Thread: Wire Jewellery

Default Wire Jewellery

My Mum is getting me all I need to get started to make my own jewellery, like a few tools, wire, crystals, class(es), etc, for my birthday just gone.

Yesterday I got the pliers and wire, so last night I made a ring with a clear quartz crystal on it, and also twisted some wire around a piece of Iolite crystal for a pendant.

I think they were pretty good for a total beginner. They were the first things I have ever made from wire. I am looking forward to making some more goodies! I'm not much (read: "any") good at sewing, and I really like the whole metal 'thing', and I love my crystals.

Any one else make jewellery?

Sounds pretty. I used to make jewellry all the time (worked in a bead shop) and wire working was my favourite, but since having kids I just cant seem to find the time. Its very addictive beware lol

Yep I do, and I have been on and off for about hrmmm.. 15-20 years now eek : )

I use a lot of wire as well in my work, I love the look and also the versatility.

Seed beads are my favourite and always has been.

Just saw the thread

I make Jewellery as well, love making my own double-link chains and working with Swaro's and Gemstones.

I ordered in 148.9ct's worth of cut/faceted gemstones the other week and I'm going to have a try doing a bit of wirework with them, venturing out of my comfort zone a little bit. I'd also like to learn how to do proper chainmaille and make miniature items like handbags and barbie necklaces because they are so adorable

As Twin Sister said, it is very very addictive I have a whole big storage box full of Jewellery now, and keep on having to ask Hubby to make displays for me so i can display it all lol

Would love to see all your creations

Arhhh JennaJayen! I was wondering how long it would be before I came across someone also from the beading forum!!!!! I am JNG1977 on the forum, although I have been a little quiet lately.. more reading rather than posting