Thread: I think she is weaning

Default I think she is weaning

Hi All,

I am so happy to report that Eva and I have been bfing for 13 months. I honestly thought that we would not make it to 6 months. She has however had a top up formula feed from 10.5 months. This helped with her weight gain and constant night waking and I am glad we did this because it actually extended our bfing journey to now.

In the last couple of weeks Eva has reduced her feeds to 2 per day and in the last 3 days she just isn't interested.

AF has also returned and all my previous hormonal problems have returned. I feel that I need to start back on my herbal remedies to help me get my thyroid issues under control. Problem being I can't take these whilst bfing. So I have decided that it is time to wean.

How does one wean? My thoughts were to just not offer.

I would also like to thank everyone here at BB for wonderful support.

Bek, babies can be fussy at the breast for a while after AF returns. Also many medications, including natural ones, are safe while bfing. It doesn't necessarily mean it has to be the end. Have you given Dr Rodney Whyte a call at the Monash Medical Centre Drug Information line? The number is 03 9594 2361. He is the absolute expert on medications while bfing and will be able to tell you whether or not the herbs you want to take will be ok.