Thread: Irregular feeding times?

Default Irregular feeding times?

Hi all,

I am fairly new to breastfeeding (first baby is just over 4 weeks old) and am feeding whenever she wants it. This seems to be at totally irregular times, anything from 45 minutes to 5 hours apart (the ones at night are usually some of the longer ones, but not always).

I am just wondering if this is normal? Did / do your babies have more regular feeding patterns this early? I'm not planning to change what I'm doing at this stage, just curious really O

fenella well done on bf your bubba. my experience is that bubbas feedings are quite irregular initially - actually mine are always irregular but i know some bfing mums say their bubs settle into a routine. it's great you are happy to demand feed and you sound really relaxed which is fantastic. oscar is 4 months and still hasn't got any regular pattern although in saying that i don't watch the clock at all around feed times so i don't really know i just do what you're doing meet his needs when he asks. well done you.

love beckles

Fiona,

Tamsin sounds a lot like Olivia as a newborn: feeding whenever she was hungry or thirsty, rather than by the clock. Sometimes I would feed her on the hour, other times it would feel like forever between feeds: totally irregular!

It settled down into a regular pattern by the time she was about 4 months.

Charlie, on the other hand, is a lot more regular, and I kind of feed him every 3 hours through the day, as he is so placid and never cries or gets unsettled, so he never "shouts" for food, IYKWIM? But he always takes the boob when I offer it!

Just goes to show all babies are different, and to really follow them & your maternal instinct as to when they want/need feeding!

Hows the feeding going now Fenella?