Thread: Tips on weaning

Default Tips on weaning

I've decided it's time to start weaning DD as I'm back to work part-time and would like DH to be able to share the feeding experience! DD has been exclusively BF for 9.5 months and loves the boob...she still usually falls asleep at the boob so I'm a bit worried about how she's going to take the bottle. She has had the odd bottle so we've narrowed down which type to use.

I'm just after some tips on weaning for example when I should be feeding her and roughly how much. She is eating 3 meals a day at 7, 12 & 5 with lots of water. She is BF on demand so pretty much feeds whenever she likes.

TIA

I have no personal experience but Im sure you will find some information HERE on the ABA website. Hopefully some people who have been through it will be here to help soon!

Hi,

What a brilliant job you have done with breastfeeding. I wonder, at 9 and a half months, I'd think twice about introducing a bottle. Most authorities suggest it's best to wean from a bottle at about 12mnths. I'm thinking you'll just get her onto the bottle and you will have to get her off the bottle.
    Have you considered combining work and breastfeeding? At her age, most people find that they can leave their child with drinks and food while they are at work and breastfeed at other times. There's no reason hubby can't share the feeding experience - seeing all those faces (happy or horrified) when new foods are introduced.
    Many mothers worry that when they are at work baby will need to feed every time she feeds when you are with you, but what most find is that when you are not there they are happy to take other food, and they just really don't demand so much. That's when we realise it wasn't really the feed they wanted after-all - it was mum! but they do just fine when we are not around.
    the ABA's booklet "Weaning" is a fabulous resource and only $5.
    Warm Regards
    Barb