Thread: First ICSI cycle & stress!!

Default First ICSI cycle & stress!!

Hello all!
    I am new to this & am really looking forward to having the opp. to discuss probs, concnerns, positives & negatives, and the high's and low's, with other people going through IVF/ICSI as well.

After many, many 'speed humps' over the last twelve months, we have just commenced our first cylcle of ICSI - I have started taking the OCP & am waiting to hear from clinic to advise when to commence synarel. I have been feeling so excited but also extremely anxious! To add to the stress, we have experienced problems with good friends being so shockingly unsuppotive, , which I have found I am really not coping with, plus a 'family crisis' resulting in us stressing+++.

Does anybody have any advice on how to reduce stress, as I am certain that it can't have a positive effect on preg. outcomes?!!!!

Hi Possum80,

Welcome! And sending you loads of luck for your cycle. I too had IVF/ICSI - unfortunately my first cycle resulted in a BFN but I did get some frosties from it. I now have a 16 month old daughter as the result of HRT FET. The difference between my first cycle and my second was:
    I took the whole day off work for my transfer - the first time around I went in and had the transfer and then went straight back to work.
    I started acupuncture. I had this in the lead up to transfer and then the day before transfer and in the few hours after the transfer. I really found that this helped with my stress levels also.

The other thing that helped with my stress levels was BB! It is sometimes hard for our IRL friends to be able to cope with and understand what we go through. Whereas all the women on hear understand and support each other.

So I just wanted to welcome you and wish you heaps of luck.

Janie xxx

Hi Possum80