Thread: Help! Severe teratozoospermia & Moderate oligozoospermia

wish1 Guest

Default Help! Severe teratozoospermia & Moderate oligozoospermia

Hi Ladies,
    I am completely new to all of this and am desperate to get some information. DH and I have been trying to conceive naturally for about 6 months with OPK's & Ultrasound (ie. perfectly timed BDing). My gyn also an RE, recommended that DH have a SA as all of his investigations with me were all clear. We were pretty devastated when we did some research into the results. They are;

Volume - 2.1ml
    Density- 13 (106/ml)
    Motility- 71%
    Progression- a-b
    Agglutination- Nil
    Morphology- Percent normal 1%
    Total No. of fertilisable motile sperm- 0.19M/ejaculate

We are living overseas at the moment (but are moving back to Oz in June) so I am just desperate to know if the course of action recommended by our RE would be similar to that in Oz. He has prescribed testosterone (Andriol 40mg) and a very potent multivitamin. He sai that this should bring the count up to 1 mil. after which he can do IUI.

Everything I can find on the net about IUI says that you need a count of 10mil for any degree of success. Are we just wasting our time trying IUI (that is if we get to 1Mil!!!) and should we be looking at other options. Is there any hope with an initial count this low?

Any comments or feedback would be greatly appreciated as it is hard for us to get second opinions until after we are back home in Oz.

Best of luck to everyone,
    Jackie

Hi Jackie, welcome to BB. Sorry to hear about the problems you have been having. From what you have said about your DH's results, I would think that doing ICSI through IVF is probably a more viable option. But I am no professional in this field.

Just that my DH has had low volume and motility and was told that IUI would only have about 15% chance of success whereas ICSI has a success rate of almost 50% (dependent on age).