Thread: IVF work and study

~Jane~ Guest

Default IVF work and study

Hi everyone

It looks as though I will be starting IVF at some point after July. I just want some opinions from those who have been there and done IVF. I work full time in a fairly demanding job(38 hour week) and I am doing a Masters Degree part time. At the moment it is one night per week and one full Saturday per month, plus all the non contact hours doing assignments etc. My question, could you have handled doing both while you were on IVF or do you think it will be too emotionally and physically draining to take on so much. I am contimplating dropping back to just one unit at Uni instead of the two, which would be one night per week.

Just wondering your thoughts on this? Part of me thinks that it would be a good distraction although I have found it hard this semester when I get stressed or hormonal and tired.

Cheers

Jane

Sal Guest

Hi there, I did IVF in 2004 whilst working and studying (28hrs per week at work, 2 units at uni so needing about 16hrs per week for study). I did find that IVF distracted me from my study a bit (and work, but could hide that LOL) although I ended up with very good grades. The timing is tricky, I got my first BFN from IVF the week before my uni exams so that was very hard to regain focus on study.

I think it is possible, but you just never know how you're going to react to IVF eg physically you may feel awful and emotionally you may be all over the place. Plus the egg retrieval procedure knocks you around for about a week, and the time required to go for the blood tests etc.

Someone you could ask is bumblebea, perhaps PM her? She did IVF whilst in a very high stress long hours job and was also doing serious study (she's a doctor).

Hope this helps.

Blue Sky Guest

Hi Jane -