Thread: What is an SSG?

Default What is an SSG?

Hi all,
    I am a newbie and just posted on the intro forum. Then found this one and thought I might get more help here.
    I have been TTC for 13 months (? cycles) for baby 2 with no luck. I recently went to a FS (who was not very helpful at all) and now I am going to have a SSG. Has anyone had this and how does it differ from a HSG? I know they use saline instead of dye but don't know what it can show up. Not sure why FS decided to do this instead of HSG. Can't find any info on the net so thought someone here might be able to help.

Thanks
    SusanT

Melb - where my coolness isn't seen as wierdness

Susan,

Welcome to BB and I hope your stay in the TTC forums is short.

I'm not sure why your FS would chose an SSG over a HSG, though my understanding is that they both do the same thing?

If it's bugging you though, call him and ask. You're paying him after all! A lot of FSs tend to speak 'to' us rather to 'with' us, so it helps to be a little assertive sometimes.

Hi!
    An SSG is done by Ultrasound scan, and HSG is done by an XRay. Either allow to check for normal shaped uterus, and open tubes. SSG is the 'newer' updated version, and is more accurate than simply putting the dye in then taking a serious of XRay's. The radiographer when scanning can have a good look around!
    Hope this helps, good Luck

Melb - where my coolness isn't seen as wierdness

Thanks for explaining it so well, milly! My FS wants me to do another HSG, so the info was very useful for me too!

Hey girls

I had a SSG done in November and the sonographer first did an external ultrasound of my abdomen and she found 2 fibroids. She looked at my ovaries which looked a little sandy on the surface. She also looked at the arteries that supply blood to the uterus and the ovaries. Then she also looked at my kidneys as well as they actually affect your fertility as well if they are not fuctioning properly.