Thread: Anyone tried a share nanny or 'mother nanny'?

Margot_In_Oz Guest

Default Anyone tried a share nanny or 'mother nanny'?

I am trying to consider all options for childcare and one avenue I'm investigating is having a share nanny (where I share the nanny with one other family and their baby/toddler), or a mother nanny - where the nanny brings her own child to look after at the same time. (Both live out).

Has anyone tried this and able to offer any opinions/experiences?

My situation is that I'm a consultant working from a home office, running my own business. And as much as I would love to give myself maternity leave, it's going to be impossible, and I have to try and run my business before and after the birth, with little break.

I can limit my hours, or do flexible hours for the first three months or so, but after that, I need to find day care or a 'cheap' nanny arrangement so that I can keep my business afloat and pay my mortgage. (Ideally I'd love a 'live out' nanny five days a week, but I just can't afford it.)

I would also like to breastfeed for at least 3 - 6 months, hence looking into the share nanny or mother nanny option, so the baby is in my home.

Thanks for any advice you can give!!

Margot.

Hi Margot,

When # 2 comes along in July, this is something that I too will be looking into, so that I can continue to work from home, breastfeed and make sure that Olivia and # 2 and I have as much time together as possible but also have the help at home so that I can continue to work from home.

So I will be interested to hear what others have to say on this..............

Margot_In_Oz Guest

Hi Lucy,

How did you go when you had Olivia? Were you working from home then? A few friends have said that with my first, I will be able to work when the baby is asleep and may not need as much childcare, as with two kids.

What's your experience of this?

Margot.