Thread: Had to Resign from Job as Not Entitled to Maternity Leave

bettyblue Guest

Default Had to Resign from Job as Not Entitled to Maternity Leave

Wondering if anyone else has had this experience. I had just changed jobs (banking industry) and found out I was pregnant, had conceived two weeks into the new job. Bit of a miracle as we had been told we would need assistance to fall pregnant, so unexpected to fall naturally. Told work when I realised I was pregnant at four months. They said I could stay on until the end but would have to resign as I was not entitled to Maternity Leave unless I had been there twelve months.

Couldn't believe it when my job was replaced by two job-share women (one a mother of teenagers and one studying full-time).

Doesn't really seem very fair that a major bank could not have given me at least leave without pay and had something to offer me part time after say six months, I have 17 years banking experience and have a good work ethic. Anyone else have this experience? Seems like discrimination to me!

It is pretty awful. Kelly did a petition recently for a case study for parental/maternity leave. I can't remember the link...kel wanna help me out here!

Will you be needing to go back to work after bubs is born? I know of a few women in the same situation. One of my gf's was pretty much told that her company didn't have a family environment and it would be in her best interest to resign :shock: the rudeness. But unfortunatley big companies seem to get away with this discrimination.

*hugs*
    Cailin

bettyblue Guest