Thread: HELP!!!- Advice needed please!!

Default HELP!!!- Advice needed please!!

Now, girls, I need your advice please...

I am finding that I am seriously overestimating what I can get done at the moment without falling in a heap! I'm also finding it really hard to sleep as I can't get comfy. My fall back position of on my back is painful now and I can't sleep on my side without a pillow. The trouble is that I've never been very good at sleeping while snuggled up to anything. DH and I sleep on opposite sides of the bed. So I can get to sleep with a pillow supporting my tummy but wake after about an hour because I'm uncomfortable and have to move.

Poor DH had me in tears last night about half 10 because I was so tired but couldn't sleep.

Now- here's my dilemma... I am a teacher and I had planned to finish the school year (Dec 10- makes me just oer 37 weeks) I'm starting to doubt my ability to make it. Especially since I teach in a demountable classroom (One of those metal boxes) which is roasting in summer! I am a contract teacher which means if I go off before Dec 10 I can take maternity leave up until the date of the end of my contract (Dec 10). But if I work up until I can't take mat leave after.

I'm starting to toss up taking some mat leave as I don't think I'll make it to Dec 10. My teaching partner and my DH think I should go off at the end of this term and take all of term 4 on mat leave (would be finishing at 27 weeks). I feel conflicted as I really want to be with these kids as long as possible but I know I have to put myself first. I've sent an email asking for a meeting with my principal to see what he thinks. I'm just finding it hard after so many years of teaching to think of myself before my class.