Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Teachers-when to take leave???

Default Teachers-when to take leave???

Hello there lovely ladies!!!
    I know there are alot of us in the education "industry" out there so I was hoping for some advice. I am a high school teacher in an old school that has plenty of stairs. I don't tend to sit at my desk alot but I know I will need to train myself to do this more-- harder to see what the little darlings are really up to though!!!
    I was thinking that I would work up to 4 weeks b/f my due date but some women at work have said they needed to leave earlier due to the nature of the job. As this is my first bub I have no idea what I'll be like closer to the time and because I have a couple of senior classes I feel obliged to give as much warning as possible so my department can find the best person to take my kidlets through their HSC's.
    Any advice appreciated. Thanks in advance,
    Hope xo

Hi Hope

I'm a primary school teacher and due to give birth in July. I also wasn't sure how long to work for as this is my first. I teach year two so that involves lots of walking around and leaning over to talk to them (they have such little desks!) I've decided to leave 6 weeks before the due date. I have a good class this year so it won't be so bad working until then.

I am a primary school teacher and had year 2 when pregnant with my first. I stopped working 6 weeks before the due date and I think that was about perfect. I was very big and uncomfortable though.

Sorry Fletch. We posted at the same time but I do think the same as you. I think the department prefers that you start leave at 34 weeks. I remember I worked until I had to stop.