Thread: When to tell your boss

Jen Schuster Guest

Default When to tell your boss

Hi All

I dont do a job that is dangerous to bub (Im an accountant) and was wondering if it is compulsory to tell your boss at 3 months. I want to wait until I start showing - I like to keep my private life private.
    Any thoughts on a time frame within which you must tell your employee!!!

Thanks

Jen

Hi Jen,

You need to inform your employer that you are pregnant at least 10 weeks before the expected birth of the baby. At this time you may need to provide your employer with a certificate from your doctor which states the date on which the baby is due. So by 30 weeks, I imagine you'll definately be showing buy then!

You will need to advise your employer of the date on which you intend to commence maternity leave, which can be any time within 6 weeks of the baby being due. (Keep in mind you may need to give 4 weeks notice that you want to start your leave.)

Your employer may also ask you to provide a statutory declaration that states the amount of leave your partner intends to take. (DH and I work for the same company, so we haven't had to do that).

I told my boss really early on as I was so ill......but he is a great boss, and I trusted him to keep it quiet. I told the rest of the office at about 14 weeks and I started to show at about 16 weeks.

HTH........

I did factory work through a temp agency when I fell pregnant with Kameron. I told them pretty early on as alot of my jobs invoved heavy lifting. I ended up stopping work for good at 4 mths when my 2 weeks at a job doing night shift finished.

Love

jilly Guest

Default The Boss