Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cervical stitch

Default Cervical stitch

HI,

In a weeks time I am getting a stitch in my cervix as I lost my last baby at 24 weeks. Has anybody had this procedure before that coudl enlighten me on their experience as I am FULL of nerves and want to know all the good and bad of it. Please help...

Bonnie.

Sorry Bonnie, I have no personal experience to help you with. My SIL delivered her daughter at 24 weeks, and she thankfully survived, but miscarried the next bubs at 15 weeks. The doctor suggested she had an incompetent cervix and they put a stitch in with her third pregnancy, which she then carried to term.

She tells me it was fairly painless experience and once in did not give her any issues at all.

Hope it works successfully for you, and someone with more knowledge can come give you some reassurance

hi bonnie...

ive just had a cervical stitch done, last monday.....

im happy to answer any questions u have, just ask away!

its a scary experience but the more u know the better u will feel about it all.....

do u have a OB?

I haven't had one myself but have nursed many women who have been my patients following the procedure. The earliest I have seen it placed was 15weeks latest 26weeks. All have then gone on to deliver after 34weeks (most term). I have not seen any complications from the surgery.

The ladies I have nursed have all been comfotable following the procedure and most have experienced a little bit of bleeding mostly brown just from the suture been placed in.

Hope it all goes smoothly and you carry bub to term.

Thanks all for answering

Crumpet: Where did you go? Did you get knocked out or have an epidural? Were you in hosp overnight? Did you bleed at all? How are you now? Can you feel it at all? And pain?