Thread: Preg induced hypertension - medical opinions please :)

Default Preg induced hypertension - medical opinions please :)

During my pregnancy my blood pressure started creeping up towards the last few months.
    At 35 weeks I was hospitalised overnight due to my BP being about 165/105. I had bloods and urine taken and only had a very small amount of protein in my urine etc. I responded well to medication (Aldomet) and was able to go home and was told to take it easy and have my BP monitored weekly.
    Bubs was born by CS 3 weeks later on my Ob's recommendation.

I am not an expert on hypertension during pregnancy. Was the 165/105 pretty high on the scale? Could it have been safe to let the pregnancy progress longer seeing as I was responding okay to meds? Since the pregnancy my BP has still been a little higher than normal about 130/85. Does this mean I am likely to get high BP again next time?

I don't know a huge amount about it, but I do know there is a higher risk if you've already hed it.

And I do know the only way to stop it is to have the baby. It can be life threatening, so maybe having bub early was the safest option.

feeb is offline Thankful for the kindness of my 2012 RAK making me Life member

It was high for preg and the meds only keep it stable for so long, it would also depend on what bloods were and how your reflexes were.
    Placentas can also not be very healthy with BP issues.

You may get it again, but as bp is still slighly elevated (what was pre preg BP?) you may have essential hypertension and need medication long term.

Get gp to moniter bp.

good luck

Hi BJRose & Feeb, thanks for your replies.

Feeb, my BP before preg was always around 120/80. I also had a scan to check the placenta at 37 weeks. There was a small amount of calcification (which I am told is quite normal) and blood flow to and from the placenta also appeared normal.

Thanks for the advice. I will keep an eye on my BP. Hopefully it sorts itself out.

Tamara