Thread: Thinking of getting the flu vax this year

Matryoshka Guest

Default Thinking of getting the flu vax this year

I've had the flu the past 2 years, and i just can't afford to physically have it again because i'm still recovering from really poor health of last year. So although i'm not keen on unnecessary vaccinations, i really think getting the flu shot is worth a try in preventing at least one or some of the severer flus.

Does anyone else get this or getting it this year?

Matryoshka Guest

anyone???

the flu shot is and isnt good as it only fights against specific strains of the flu.

influenza has many strains, this years is the sam as last years vacciene.

i get it but only because i work in the health industry.

will cost you around 5-20 bucks depending if you have a health card or not.

also it is very common to get the flu within 2 week of having it as its your body's way of building the immunity and then preventing you from getting it last year.

Matryoshka Guest

Yeah but i'm figuring to prevent at least some, even just one or two strains is better than none right?? is the flu you get within 2 weeks of having it debilitating??

It's just that i have been literally bedridden for 10 days the past 2 years that i've had it, and my dh hasn't got anymore leave that he could take if i get sick again this winter.....

I guess i hope its worth it?

varies form person to person, but generally no
    its just slight snuffle congested in teh ehad feeling and runny nose.

havent had anyone to sick where they couldnt function in every day.

i agree preventing some strains is better than none. but people get it done and arent aware that it is only for selected strains, so was just giving you the correct information

I am considering it, and want to get DS done too... DH gets it for work... So I think we will all have it this year...

we dont usually give it to children under 16

as it is very strong for their bodies to handle.