Thread: Plain old flats... which is best

Default Plain old flats... which is best

I am planning on using a mixture of MCN's and Flats for bub #2.

What is the best type of flat nappy to fold with?

Terry?
    Flannel?
    Fleece?
    Muslin?

If i place a bamboo booster inside and a PUL on the outside will that be ok?

And is it best to buy them made up a squares or cheaper to buy bulk materal and cut up?

from what i understand (feel free guys to correct me though i am a bit of a newbie!) terry is the most absorbant of the materials so good for when bubs get older but huuuuuge on a newborn.. that flannel or muslin is good for newborns and most ppl prefer flannel... ur idea of the booster and the pul sounds pretty good.. my dd is just in terry squares folded in the pad fold with a pul cover over it during the day and i find as long as i change frequantly enough thats enough for her.. we use mcn at night and when we go out though.. i bought made up squares but it probably is cheaper to buy in bulk if u know how to sew and can sew the edges..

Thanks noni - yes i have DD in MCN at the moment and have a heap for when bub is big enough.
    BUt i have read they are sometimes too bulky for newborns so going to go with flats for a little while (plus stop the liquid poo getting caught in the elastic etc) lol

I used Terry flats on Nina for the first few months. And now that I have MCN, I would never go back to flats! For me personally, I find the flats to be bulkier on a baby, especially a newborn, rather than a MCN.
    I've only ever used Terry, so can't comment on the other materials. And I bought them already cut into squares.
    Putting a bamboo booster inside is a good idea as well.

Flannelette definitely is trimmer, and can be used as spit/spew cloths later. Don't forget the option of prefolds too, we use prefolds on our little ones and they're good without requiring quite as much origami as flats.