Thread: Totally new to the cloth scene, with some questions

Default Totally new to the cloth scene, with some questions

Hello ladies. With my fourth little one on the way, and an every increasing nappy bill and garbage haul every week (DD 1 and 2 still wear something to bed at night, and DD3 is no where close to potty trained), I thought I'd better do some serious thinking about cloth.
    I like the idea of a fitted cloth diaper, with a waterproof cover, I think.
    Here are my questions:

How many different sizes will I realistically need? I don't think a one-size-fits-all is really going to work well for a newborn to toddler. What are you using?

How many nappies will I probably need in each size? Covers? Liners? Anything else?

If I want to make them myself, where do I find a pattern? How do I find the right kind of material? I can sew a little - have made clothes for my kids, but I'm not an expert by an stretch of the imagination. Is it hard to do? My MIL has a serger, which I'm sure I could borrow if need be.

Do you save money by sewing your own, or does it just allow you more flexibility as far as sizing and material goes?

Are snaps or velcro better in your opinion? I'm leaning towards velcro, because it seems like it would give you more flexibility in the fit, but I've heard it wears out and starts curling, etc. What is your experience?

Any other tips or help you can give would be MUCH appreciated!
    Thanks!

I can't help you with the sewing questions - cos I can't sew to save my life.

I think all my fitted nappies are snaps. My velcro ones are AIO's, AI2's or pockets.