Thread: Baby hammock or baby bassinet? First 3mths....

Talking Baby hammock or baby bassinet? First 3mths....

Hi,

This is our first bub so i have no idea when it comes to all this stuff!! I'm new at all this!

We are looking at purchasing a bassinet or a hammock for our bedroom so that the baby can sleep in our room with us for the first few precious weeks; probably 2-3mths is the plan depends how it all goes..... easier for me when breastfeeding so i'm not getting up to go to another room down the hall etc etc.... and so we have peace of mind bubs is with us in the room and all is ok!

My question is..... I am leaning more towards purchasing a baby hammock rather than the bassinet.... they look better and more comfy for bubs. I was looking at one on ebay, brand new $149.00 and they are gorgeous. The mother who sells them claims they are better for bub's sleeping as the baby is positioned more like they are when in the womb so it's a better transition for them after being in the womb! amongst other things like good for reflux and colic babies etc..... and it gently rocks and sways so if the baby moves and wakes up it rocks the baby back to sleep iykwim....

Anyone care to tell me about their experience with baby hammocks? Are they better?

Sorry I'm no help. I put DD straight into her cot in her bedroom when she was born (although she was in a tetra snuggle bed for the first few months). DD was a snorer & with DH already snoring I didnt need one on either side LOL

This time round I have a bassinette as the babys room is further away from ours than DD's was & his room may not be done in time so he may need to sleep in our room anyway.

I'm sure you'll get plenty of replies soon, heaps of people seem to recommend the hammock & they look so comfy!!!

DD1 went straight to a cot from birth.

DD2 went into a cradle but only lasted until 8/9 weeks old as she was to long and moved around alot making it squeak!!

I like the look of hammocks