Thread: Faint Positive Line - Newbie needs help!

JG's Princess83 Guest

Unhappy Faint Positive Line - Newbie needs help!

Hi everyone,

Yet another newbie here! Thought I'd say hi and introduce myself first. My name is Kylie, I'm a Primary School teacher and I have no bubbies yet but ttc.
    H2b and I are getting married in October 2009 (forever i know), however we are ttc now so we can try to nip any problems in the bud while still relatively young (Always had probs with AF & possibly pcos). Here's my problem...
    As with many of those before me I'm having trouble with HPT's. Monday I got a faint positive line on my HPT - Pregnosis. Completed test again today - same brand. Faint positive again. However this afternoon negative with Foretel. No idea of O or DPO as AF VERY irregular. Went off pill September 2006 - October 2006 possible spontaneous Ab - No AF since. When should I test again? Could I be PG?

Hi and welcome.

The tests are designed to detect the presence of the hormone that is onoly in you when pregnant so if you're getting a faint line then you could be quite sure it's a positve but the concentration of the hormone in your urine is not yet strong. I think from memory it peaks at 11 weeks or something like that. A false negative is much more likely to ocur than a false positive. Try again ain a week if your period hasn't come and you should get a more accurate result.

Good luck

hello there!

in my experience, fortel is not a very reliable brand of HPTS. I have had false positives and false negatives with those many times. However if you are getting a faint second line twice on pregnosis that sounds pretty good! Maybe wait another day or so and test with first morning urine on a different brand - I found lullaby conceptions (on the internet) very good and also the discover brand - but of course everyone is different.

if you are really unsure, you could always go along for a blood test with your doctor.

best of luck!