Thread: Question on OPKs

Default Question on OPKs

Hello All,

I'm just joining your merry gang... some background on me - I'm 30 yrs old, married 18 months, and TTC approx 6 mths, at least I think I've been using OPKs for that long - I'm very impatient and once I decide to do something, I want to do it NOW!!

Anyway - I have so many questions, and it's such a relief to talk to other people who are going through the same thing... My first question it this - I've been using OPKs for several months - all the instructions say to wait for a line 'darker' than the control line - I do get a definite line around day 16 (I have a 30 days cycle), but it never actually gets darker than the control line... any thoughts?

Sal Guest

Hi Bertie, when I used OPKs I found that I would get a line as dark as the control, but never darker. It possibly depends on the time of day that you do the test. I've read that first thing in the morning is not necessarily the best time, as you might miss the surge of that day, hence you are already 24hrs into your 'notice period' when you get a positive. Just a thought.

Thanks Sleebly - I guess we don't all fit into the manufacturer's picture!

Another question - and I may be getting ahead of myself here... I've read that some women feel crampy around the time AF is due, even when they're pg, and this is often mistaken for period pains? Is this true?

Also, I used to really enjoy reading the TWW diaries - are they still there, and where can I find them?

Hope you all have a lovely day,
    Bertie

Kirsty77 Guest

Hi Bertie