Thread: Complete newbie - but very keen to learn!

Default Complete newbie - but very keen to learn!

Hi,
    Newbie to all things parenting...not just nappies!
    I really really want to use cloth nappies, and so far I have been taking my mum's advice. She works in a childcare centre, so she sees and changes loads of nappies!
    I like the look and price of peapods, but my question is wouldn't it be easier if there was a little liner on the inside of the nappy, as opposed to the pocket liner. What i mean is wouldn't that make disposing of the poo easier - i.e. flushing down the loo, like some other nappies. Or, do those kinds of 'non-pocket' liners tend to move around?
    I am just balking a bit at needing so many peapods in order to go full-time cloth, seeing as each one needs to washed after every change.
    Hope someone can help - and btw, i have started reading all the other threads...and I have already learnt such a lot!
    TIA
    Jo

I don't use liners but I think a lot of girls do. I find with newborn poo it spills off the liner anyway. With the pockets that I have thus far the material that sists agains bub's bum dosn't hang onto the poo and is easily washed away (can't flush it cause its almost liquid).
    I remember using liners with Alecia and I didn't like them. I am going to have another go at them sometime soon. I think it's all about trial and error

Good luck

I may not be much help, as we started using pocket nappies when DD was 4 1/2 months old - (I tried not to overestimate my abilities as a new mum and went disposable till I felt I might be able to cope!!!).

Tanya is right, when the poo is more solid they kind of slide off, but newborn poo prob won't do that and would leak out of the confines of a liner anyway.

I do use liners but only in the mornings, as DD is fairly predictable these days - well I put liners in from waking in the morning until she does a poo - usually within 1 or 2 nappy changes!