thread: #1 appears to be on the way!!

FindingTime Guest

#1 appears to be on the way!!

Well long time reader first time poster here .....
    I have been reading the TTC section of this forum for the last few months with the intention of posting something but it appears that its too late and i have to move into here!!

We have been TTC for a couple of months now and even tho AF wasnt due untill the 27th of this month on the 20th i took a HPT and got a faint but still there

I tested again on the 27th and low and behold it was a VERY prominant

I have booked and appointment with the local GP for Friday but i'm not all that keen as i have had some bad experiences with the doctors at this medical centre when i broke my shoulder and i'm afraid they are going to be dismissive and rude again ....

So could someone please share some wisdom as to what exactly goes on in that first visit?? I HATE going to the doctors and i generally have to have some kind of head injury before i will go willingly to the hospital!
    I really am starting to stress about it already!!

BellyBelly Life Subscriber & MPM

Feb 2007
    Melbourne

Congratulations!!!

Re: your GP visit - with mine, all I got was a referral to my hospital. They didn't require me to do any tests, they said if I got a positive test then I must be pregnant LOL! Some Drs may get you to do a pregnancy test while you're there or even give you a referral for a blood test.

Good luck

BellyBelly Member

Oct 2008

to BB and congratulations on your pg

What happens in your first visit to your GP really depends on your GP. They can do any number of things. Often they will refer you for a blood test, he may take a urine sample, may refer you for a dating ultrasound, possibly have a feel of your tummy, check that all your immunisations and papsmear are up to date, possibly ask you if you have considered whether you want to go privately or publically and talk to you about your pg care options.