Thread: Cats and Pregnancy

Mark&Jess Guest

Default Cats and Pregnancy

Hi,
    Have heard a few tales about cats and pregnancy not mixing. Is this something we should be concerned about? We have an indoor cat that likes to snuggle on the couch with us, lately he has been banished to the garage/laundry as Jess has heard that she should avoid cats at all cost.
    I have been cleaning the litter box (which I guess is a good warm up for changing nappies??)
    Are we doing the right thing keeping the cat away while going through the pregnancy, or is it okay for him to come back into the house with us? (He's not too happy about missing his nightly fix of TV with us :-({|= )

Mark

Hi Mark... wow you found the right person to ask... lol.... as I am a vet nurse, and when I got PG I had to be aware of handling cats. I handled around 4-5 different cats daily on average. When I got PG I had to find out through various GP's & infection control at a hospital about toxoplasmosis which is the disease that cats can carry and affects PG women but causing miscarriage. To get toxoplasmosis from a cat, you have to get their poo in your mouth. This has to be done on the 14th day after the cat comes in contact with the virus. If the cat has already had the virus in the past, then you don't have to worry, its a bit like chicken pox, you should only have it once. If you have contracted toxoplasmosis in the past, you won't be affected whilst PG. For the past 6 years I have been cleaning cats litter trays and handling all sorts of cats and have never been exposed to toxoplasmosis.

Having said all of that.... when I found out I was PG, I stopped cleaning all litter trays, and if our cat was particularly messy, DH would have to clean it up quickly.... and I washed my hands after handling any cats. I still handled them, & our cat Chester still slept on my lap heaps....