Thread: Heart murmer

Default Heart murmer

I just had my first doctors appointment and he found a heart murmer... i am off to a cardiologist on monday. Apparently this could cause a problem.... any one heard of this... i am freaking out a little

Melinda Guest

I'm sorry to hear that hopeful mum....unfortunately I don't know anything about heart murmurs, but I hope that everything turns out well for you.

Please let us know how you get on and good luck.

rails Guest

Hi hopeful mum,

I was born with a heart murmer, which is an irregular heart beat. I eventually grew out of it by the age of 14, which is common I think when you are born with it. I did not even notice I had the condition apart from my mum mentioning it everytime I went to the doctors. I was still very active with sports etc as well as any other child.

I would say you don't really have to stress out to much. I'm not sure of your exact condition & I am not a doctor & also don't know how it affects someone who is pg - I myself will have it checked again when I go for my appointment. But from what I understand a heart murmer is just an extra beat.

hope this helps ...

Hi Hopeful_mum,

From what I understand, most heart murmers are benign and shouldn't cause the person any problems. Others, that are pathologic, are usually to do with a defect of the valves of the heart. It's unlikely to be the second kind if you haven't been told of a significant murmur before this, as it's usually congential (from birth), or as the result of rheumatic fever or endocarditis (in which case you'd know if you'd had those).

My dad was born with a congenital heart valve defect, and when I was a teenager my Doctor heard a heart murmur in me too. They had to check it out because of the family history, but it turned out to be nothing.

It is possible to have a murmur detected and have completely normal cardiac structure and function. Murmurs can be detected in most young people at some time or another.