Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: So scared of CVS!!!! PLZ HELP!!!

Unhappy So scared of CVS!!!! PLZ HELP!!!

In about two weeks, I am due for a CVS to test for Down's Syndrome. My Ob suggested me to do the test. THis is my first pregnancy, and I am a newbie to everything... So, when I booked myself the CVS appointment, I also did some research on my own using the internet. I gathered that CVS has a 1% chance of miscarriage. I know that it is not a great value, but I am so scared that I could be included in that 1%.... You really never know, right? The thing is I am 24 years old and do not have any family history of genetic abnormalities... I know that Down's Syndrome is higher for women over 35 years of age and if they have past family history of some genetic abnormalities... So, would it sound arrogant if I tell my Ob I feel "reluctant" in doing the test as it still carries risk of m/c? Am I being unreasonable or too paranoid? Please help!!!

Did anyone refuse having the test done? Please share your experience with me... I'm so unsure!

have u had the nt scan? i always thought u had to have the scan first and a blood test and then if the results don't come back good u look into cvs?

No, I haven't had the NT scan nor blood test... My Ob just offered CVS when I was 7 weeks pregnant... Does this sound like something is wrong?

yeah i always thought u have the NT scan first and blood test (thats all i had).. then if they come back showing signs of Downs sydrome then u have the CVS if u want, u dont have to have it, it is totally ur desicion..

carmen every dr is different with what they suggest and cvs is more accurate then the other tests so maybe this is why ur ob has suggested u skip straight to that? if there is no family history though and its just ur age i would talk to your ob about being concerned about having it because to me he hasn't given u any good reason to have it especially the way ur feeling...