Thread: hi im new to this

rae80 Guest

Default hi im new to this

i just wanted to know how quick some of your labours were my first was 7 hrs 24 mins second was 32 mins and im now 23 weeks pregnant again and freaking out about this labour and ive herd that labours get quicker with each pregnancy i dont want another quick labour as i didnt cope very well with a half an hour labour
    thankyou to anyone who replys to my question i look forward to hearing from you

Hi, I have only had 1 so I cant speak form personal experience, but both my mother and MIL had a really short birth 1hr followed by 6-8hr ones. Hope that helps, try not to worry.

Love

Hi Rae, welcome to BB!

I've heard this too, in fact my aunt was reported as crossing her legs with her third so that her husband got there on time! However, a friend had a "normal"-length first labour and then days for her second, so there are always stories to back up or refute whatever you've heard.

I too have had 2 bubbas & PG with #3. My first was 9 hours & my 2nd was 14 (from memeory, I can never remember exactly but I have it written down somewhere), so defently no faster for me with the second pg. I am hopeing this time I can get over with in say no more then 6 hours??

I've heard that the 3rd can go either way, so not nessessarily shorter.

my first was 26hours
    2nd 6 hours
    3rd 25 minutes
    4th 4 hours
    5th 3.5 hours
    my 4th and fifth were induced due to quick arrival of no 3 and i only just got to hospital and he was coming out in the hallway leading to the labour ward!! since i lived over 1 hour away from the hospital, i opted for an inducement for the next 2.

Have no personal experience with labour, but my aunt who had natural births with 8 of her 9 ( the last baby was very large and was delivered by c/s - seemed to put a stop to her pg hehehehe) and with each birth it apparently got quicker......

Quote Originally Posted by chrissy
    3rd 25 minutes