Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Obs & Hospital - how do you choose?

Fee Guest

Default Obs & Hospital - how do you choose?

How do you choose an Obs or a hospital? Which one do you pick first? How does it work?

Do you need to research hospitals early on?

Just not sure what happens when I do fall pg - what do I do?!?!

TIA - I'm totally clueless about this.

to be honest, it wasnt much of a decision for me. i live in a small town, only one choice of hospital and only a small handful of OBs to choose from.

if you know anyone who has been through the process in your area, ask them, even if you dont know them well they will be more than happy to give you their view.

good luck,

Linda

Sal Guest

It's a very good question - one I wish I'd asked the minute I got my BFP. I think it helps if you have friends who can recommend an Obs. I am new to Brissy, so didn't have any recommendations. I was just referred to an Obs and I didn't even know if he dealt with public patients (he doesn't - so it means I'm committed to a private hospital, which I wasn't sure about even though I have private health cover).

I'm still very lost. It is never too early for you to start researching this, so when you get the BFP you know what your plan is, and can make the Obs appt ASAP.

In Darwin we had blessed little choice, only 1 private hospital or 1 public hospital, and only 1 OB! So that made my choice easy!

In Adelaide I was keen to deliver at a particular hospital becasue my previous experience of that hospital was so positive so I rang them to check which OB's delivered there. From there I asked around for recommendations, from my GP and from other friends who had had babies/were pg.

To my mind, whilst the hospital/convenience of location is important, the OB choice is the vital one, as you'll see a lot of them! It is comforting to know you like them & feel confident in your choice,and that they fully support the way you want to handle the pregnancy/birth........

HTH

Fee Guest