Thread: pets and pregnancy

Wanna_B_Mum Guest

Question pets and pregnancy

heay guys i'm ttc at the mom and my other half and i live in a small apartment i know i shouldn't b changing the kitty litter when i'm pregnant but do i get my other half to start now lol.also my cat is a bit loud and naughty but never seen him hurt a little one but has jumped up (he acts like a dog lol)we are moving into a house next yr but he's an inside cat and if his kitty litter has even one poop in it (sorry Icky)he will go next to the kitty litter he's in the laundry. but if i can't even handle it now how will i go with him doin stuff like the kitty litter tray incident?

There is a huge thread about pets and pregnancy here Chrissy, if it is any help to you......

http://www.bellybelly.com.au/forums/...read.php?t=895

Chrissy the issue with cat's poo is a real scare for toxoplasmosis. You can get tested with pre natal testing to see if you are okay. I am a vet nurse and have had the test in the early stages of pregnancy. One thing is to have disposable gloves on hand and pick the poo up with them & throw it out straight away and then wash your hands. Not that you would normally pick poo up with bare hands, but the real fear is that you would get a bit of poo into your mouth and you cat happens to have toxoplasmosis at that time. If you have been exposed to toxoplasmosis prior to getting pregnant, you don't have to worry too much about it but do have to continue clean sanitary practices when emptying the litter tray.

I would say alleviate your fears & have the test done (btw its cheaper for you to be tested than to have your cat tested). And to be safe, avoid it as much as possible, but if you do have to do it use gloves & wash your hands afterwards. HTH!

Just wanted to add, that the poo needs to be more then 24 hours old as well. So if you keep on top of things you should be ok.