Thread: running during pregancy

Default running during pregancy

hi there all mums or mums to be..

I am hopefully pregnant again with my second child...or will be soon we hope. Anyway, during my first pregnancy I ran almost everyday and also did Yoga, light weights at the gym and walked for 30 mins after dinner about 3 times a week.

I am hoping to talk to other pregnant mums who are as passionate about running and fitness as me. No, I did not do anything dangerous, and I was very fit BEFORE pregnancy...and I certainly take a rest day if I need it, and NEVER get myself overheated.

So who else out there LOVES running and cannot bear to be without their fix during pregnancy? I would love to hear your experiences and stories.

Hello,
    My DH and I are currently trying to conceive and I am a dancer/dance teacher. I plan to keep dancing throught my pregnancy when it happens. Also there are about 4 or 5 ladies that I dance with who have continued dancing throughout their pregnancy. One of my friends even performed in our annual concert when she was 5 months. Of course you need to know limitations and not do anything ridiculuous but it is very healthy to keep up the exercise and as you say if you are fit before you fall pregnant and you know your body then good on you!!!

Default reply

Hi and welcome to BB!

Im probably the most unfit person in the world, but I just wanted to ask you what was it like (feeling wise) running with a big tummy!!

hi runnermum!!

i am so glad you have posted this!! i know exactly how you feel. i am not a super fit person, but in the 2 years prior to TTC, i had taken up running and discovered how much i love it. i would run 10km most saturdays and had just started planning entering some events.

in the first tri, i had MS so didnt feel up to running, hardly even did any walking. then i was worried about taking it up again in case i had 'lost it' and would be putting too much strain on myself.