Thread: Work in 1st Trimester

Question Work in 1st Trimester

Hi ladies,
    I'm not PG yet (still stuck in the TTC rut) - but I like to plan ahead (and my work needs to know these sorts of things too, so they can plan ahead)...
    I'm a police officer, and H2B and I are TTC for #1 (12mths plus now).
    In the police force there is a 'order' that upon reaching the 2nd trimester - you are in plain clothes and doing office work until maternity leave. I have no issues with that!
    But I'm concerned about the 1st trimester. After reading some sad stories about angel babies - as soon as I find out and can announce a BFP - I don't want to be wrestling with crooks and have all that 'on the road' stress on top of PG too. It seems to also be a fragile time for some; like the 2nd and 3rd tirmester and I don't want to risk anything.

Is there anything you think a Dr could say (like a medical certificate) to 'pardon' me from work up until the 2nd trimester?

Hi Leesa,

I completely understand your concerns.I am working in a position that is currently partime, I have been on holidays but was meant to go back this week but I have been calling in sick this week, and DH wants me to quit now because I have really bad all day everyday morning sickness. You may have the same problem...you just won't know how your body will copy until you get there! Is there anyway you could talk to your boss and just ask to go on office duties rightfrom the start. And also as you suggested I am sure you would be able to get a medical certificate otherwise, if the 1st dr says no just see another. Good luck, hoping you get a bfp really soon
    Last edited by Jas; January 3rd, 2007 at 04:23 PM.

Taia's Mum Guest

Hi Leesa,

I'm sure if you explained the situation to your Doctor he could write you a certificate to be on 'light' duties untill a set date. Unless you are really sick in the 1st trimester I don't see why you couldn't still go to work.