Thread: What not to eat

Default What not to eat

Hi everyone!!

This is my first time here, I am currently 21 weeks pregnant and was wondering if there is a list of foods in which to eat during pregnancy and which foods to avoid? I'm craving last nights rice but abit hesitant to eating it. :-k

there are a few foods wich can cause lysteria which can be harmful to your baby. its a type of bacteria found in:

processed meats like ham, salami etc
    Soft cheeses like brie, camembert etc

Tigergirl1980 Guest

What kind of rice is it? I wouldn't think there would be a problem if it was heated through properly

Its boiled rice. I keep hearing all these stories about what to stay away from and I keep freaking out, this is my first pregnancy and I'm 19 years old. Another thing is with peanut butter I have really bad cravings for this and read not to eat it (I have eaten on a few occasions) and then I ask the dr and they said its fine. I just get really confused because I know I shouldnt believe all things that I read on the net but I cant help myself. 8-[

Tigergirl1980 Guest

It's easy to understand. But plain boiled rice is fine and it was only from yesterday there's an article Here on which foods to avoid that may be of some use to you

ETA:- There are many conflicting stories on what to and what not to eat. Some people steer clear of everything that you're not "supposed" to eat and some people don't worry and just eat what they want. I steered clear of most things but I did cave and had some peanut butter towards the end. Basically use your best judgement, if you feel too guilty about having it then don't have it, people have eaten many things and their babies turned out alright. And way back when no one cared about what they ate and I sure ate a lot of things that are said to be no no's these days and they have had perfectly healthy children. Anyway, as I said use you best judgement, if it doesn't feel right don't do it.