Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: when to finish work?

Default when to finish work?

hi everyone
    I was just wondering when everyone had decided to stop work before the baby arrives?
    I've never done this before so I thought maybe a month before I was due would be ok but then ive heard a few people say they will be finishing at about 32 or 34 weeks.
    I work in childcare so i honestly don't know how tired im going to get or how big and uncomfortable ill be lol I know ive got loads of time before I have to decide as im only 18 weeks but id still like a rough idea.
    Thanks everyone
    take care
    xox

I finished working at 37 weeks, but I had a cruisy sit down job. I guess it depends on how youre feeling and how much "you time" you want before bub is born. I had a pretty easy pregnancy and didnt get too huge, so i decided I'd be ok to work till 37 weeks. Maybe if your job is really full on and busy then 34 weeks sounds good?

You might want to check what your works rules are on applying for maternity leave so you dont leave it too late if you want to leave earlier. I had to give 3 months notice - I left in Feb but had to officially tell them in writing I was taking leave in November, then tell them the exact dates of my leave in January.

I am finishing work at 35-36 weeks. (only over 10 more weeks to go!) so this gives me about a month before bub arrives. I was going to work up until maybe 37-38 weeks but I have just had enough of my work and taking my last month of leave before maternity leave starts.

I have a sit down job that is boring most of the time, but I am already getting really tired after a hard days work even tho I am sitting most of the day! I think iit all does depend on how you are going to feel at the end of pregnancy,..