Thread: Does this make me a Hypocrite?

Default Does this make me a Hypocrite?

I am a primary school teacher in the public education system in WA, and I love what i do and I believe in what I do and what I teach. However, recently we have moved to an area where I have previously worked in some of the schools and know of people that have worked in others and unfortunatley they are plauged with behaviour and social problems- so we have decided to send our kids to the local catholic school (it is also the closest school to where we live, the only one the kids can walk to and from).

Anyway my dilema is I feel like a hyporcrite for not sending my kids through the public system when that is where I work, it is not that I dont believe the teachers are capable of teaching the kids, nor that the schools aren't any good- it is just I know from experience that teaching in a classroom with lots of behaviour problems means that so much time and focus goes into behaviour management that learning takes a back seat. I dont for a minute think that my DD is a genius, but she is clever and I dont want her education to be compromised because she is in a class with naughty kids IYKWIM. I guess at the end of the day I have to do what is best for my children's education, dont I?

I don't think so.. you do whats right for your kids

I think that you have done what you feel is best for your child and that is the most important thing.

I wouldn't feel bad about it at all. My mum was a public school teacher and I went to a private school. I'm sure she never thought twice about it.

I am actually wondering if we are hypocrites for considering the local catholic school when we aren't religious at all, it just happens to be the closest one and has a good reputation. I think we do whatever is best when considering our kids education.