Thread: Everyday Education

Debbie Lee Guest

Default Everyday Education

As a Primary Teacher, I am amazed at the broad spectrum of knowledge that some children have. Some kids come to school knowing how to read and write the alphabet, they can write their name and some other small words and they can tie their own shoes. Others haven't even seen or heard of the alphabet, cannot count to 10 and haven't even attempted to tie they own shoes. It makes for a very challenging experience as a teacher to accomodate for all the different levels of knowledge. I guess it's our job though!
    Anyway, it got me thinking. What can I do to help prepare Gabby for school while she is still so young? What can I do in these next few years while she is at home, to build up her knowledge so that she isn't left behind before she even starts?
    I don't want to be on her back all the time - and I don't expect her to be able to read "War and Peace" by the time she is 5.
    I would, however, expect her to be able to write her name, recite the alphabet (and have some general knowledge of letters and language - maybe even write a couple of simple words like "cat" and "dog"), be able to count to 10 (and maybe even write the numbers) and be well on her way to doing things like tying her shoes, helping to pack her bag and being responsible with her belongings.

I was thinking about how I could go about some of this by incorporating learning into every day life. I found a list on the Department of Education and Training Website that I thought might be of some use. Some things, I imagine, people do all the time with their children anyway!
    * Sing songs and play games like "I Spy"
    * Sing finger play songs such as "Where is Thumbkin" and "Incy Wincy Spider" to encourage finger dexterity and interest in rhythm, rhyme and words.
    *Talk about letters, words and numbers children see when shopping, on television, in books and on computer screens.