Thread: Schools in Adelaide East?

Default Schools in Adelaide East?

Hi there! We moved from Sydney to Adelaide, and we are loving it so far, but I am not loving the school dilemma! In my former life (before kid!) I was a primary school teacher, and had lots of great inside info, as to who was coming and going in the schools I had my eye on, as well as "the real story"...here in Adelaide, I have no frame of reference!

So, basically, I think I have narrowed my choices down to three schools;

East Marden (have heard good things about this from a lady I babysat for)

Magill (I hear this is a great school, but I don't like the uniform, the location...and I also heard that, because it is becoming so popular, they are going to have to increase class sizes, because there is no more room on the grounds for demountable classrooms.)

Stradbroke

I am leaning towards these, but would soooooooo welcome any input from other Adelaide mums. Thanks in advance for your help!

Hi there,

Glad you love Adelaide!

I live in Rostrevor and I have looked into all the local schools for our children.

East Marden: my BIL has spoken well of this school (he works for DECS).

Magill: shocking position and this has put me off totally.....I am just fearfull of such a busy road. BUT, it is a great school with a lovely "feel" to it once you are in.

Stradbroke: this gets my vote every time. Friends of mine with 2 boys (age 11 and 8) attend there and LOVE IT. I love the position. I also love their philosphy toward the environment, and toward pastoral care. It is also an International Baccalaureate school, which is a benefit to us in term of international exchange of education.

Where do you live in the eastern suburbs? One other thing I have considered in relation to primary schooling is nearness to home......

HTH!