Thread: Curtain sewing help PLEASE!

Question Curtain sewing help PLEASE!

Hi all, i am about to sew my curtains for babies room. I am a novice sewer but have done some before... many years ago LOL
    I am very much in need of some guidance!

We have bought 100%ployester backed curtain material, with the 'stuff' up the top for the curtain hooks (yes i am very technical)

What needle will i need to use?

How much Hem on the sides do i leave?

And If you have full length curtains, how far from the floor do you hem them? DH was thinking around 10cm off the floor, but i am not convinced!!!

Also(if you look at my photos) What would you suggest for the small window, we are also undecided about what to do there!!!!

Thanks!

kalinka Guest

I know it's late - you may not need any answers here but maybe you'll find them helpful regardless.

Quote Originally Posted by Taurusa View Post
    Hi all, i am about to sew my curtains for babies room. I am a novice sewer but have done some before... many years ago LOL
    I am very much in need of some guidance!

We have bought 100%ployester backed curtain material, with the 'stuff' up the top for the curtain hooks (yes i am very technical)
    Usually called curtain tape, specified as various types - pencil-pleat tape, lining tape, tape for normal weight curtains versus sheer curtains etc. If you go somewhere they sell tape and look at the boxes, it'll show you the kind of effect the tape can produce. Most commonly it's a choice between pencil-pleat (standard pleats, like |||||) or triple-pleats (3 pleats-flat space-3 pleats, like ||| ||| |||).

When it's pre-stitched to the curtain fabric, it is almost always pencil-pleats.

What needle will i need to use?
    Machine sewing, standard needle. Hand sewing, sharps in a size you're comfortable working with.

How much Hem on the sides do i leave?