Thread: Wholemeal Multigrain Bread Questions & Recipe

Default Wholemeal Multigrain Bread Questions & Recipe

So I finally decided to make my own bread. I would love to make healthy
    wholemeal multigrain bread. But I have a few questions:

1. Do I NEED a breadmaker or is it just as nice in the loaf tin in the oven? (I have only bottom heat - stupid oven) I have a tiny kitchen and can't even fit my food processor in it. So do I really have to buy more bulky equipment?

2. Is it worth money-wise? Is it cheaper or more expensive to make it from scratch? (I'm a full-time student and kind of broke ) I know flour is cheap, but what about buying all the seeds? Exxy?

3. Does anyone have a good recipe? If so, would you mind sharing? Pretty please

4. Do I need to invest in 'good' (read: more exxy) flour or are they all the same ()?

4. Once it's baked -how do you best store it?

Big thank you in advance!!

Sorry Raupe, can't help you but i want to know too!!

BUMP!

Hey Stoked! That's cool.

I'll it again.

Anyone???

Nope, you definitely don't need a machine. I don't even use a food processor to make the dough!

My main recipe is:

Mix 1 tblspn dried yeast, 1 tsp sugar and half a cup of warm water (water has to be warm to get the yeast going, but not boiling).

Add this to 4 cups plain flour (I use any old plain flour, works fine) and a good pinch of salt, and work through with your hands, adding more water to make a dough. Kneed for 2 mins or so until it comes together nicely in a ball.

Leave to sit somewhere warmish (not in the fridge) for 2 hours. Resting it for this long makes up for not kneeding it much. After 2 hrs punch the dough down to remove the air in it, and kneed again for 2 mins.

For grainy bread, you can buy seeds and bread grain mix at health food shops. You add about .75 cup of grain at this stage & kneed it through.