Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I want a new hairdo!

Melb - where my coolness isn't seen as wierdness

Default I want a new hairdo!

I've had long hair for years. It's now halfway down my back and just lately, with work and study, I'm not finding the time to care for it like I used to. I'm going 3-4 days without a wash, it's going greasy and manky, and it's always in a ponytail or a bun because it's too hard to have it down at work and when I'm studying.

So I'm thinking of having it cut to a chin length bob. I haven't had one of those in years and my DH has jokingly said it's a sure sign I'm joining the nanna brigade, but tbh I think they can be very stylish and I need something low maintenance right now. I'm not skinny though so am concerned it's going to make my face look even rounder, so am also tossing up whether I should go shoulder length instead....

So what do you think? Should I bite the bullet and do it? Who's gone from long to short and not regretted it? And who has?

Sush, good on you! I have had hair of varying lengths over the years, from very short, to long. I LOVE having short hair, but TBH I think that a chin length bob can take a bit of maintenance. Don't get me wrong, I really love how they look, but I always find them a bit hard going. It's too short too tie up when you're in a rush, but too long to be really easy to style. I guess it depends on your hair , mine's pretty tricky.

If I were you I'd go with either really short, that's easy to blow wave and style, or shoulder length, maybe with lots of layers, so you can still tie it up if needs be. I have to tie my hair up for work too, and I know that a chin length bob gets in my way something shocking!

Good luck deciding! Hopefully some of our hairdressers can come and give their opnion.