Thread: Using Doula training/experience for Uni entry?

Default Using Doula training/experience for Uni entry?

Has anyone used their Doula training or experience for Uni entry into a midwifery course? Im a mature age student, did my HSC awhile ago and it basically means zilch now. I would love to be a doula, but eventually go through midwifery at Uni. Was wondering if I should do the Doula training first or just go straight for the midwifery and spend months and months trying to convince them to let me in.

Ta

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia

Anna,

I know 4 of Rhea Dempsey's students got into midwifery last year, each year she's had a class of 10 but has now increased it. It definitely does help, as they like birth attendance if you have done it as a bonus. I really strongly recommend doula training first, its a huge difference. Many of the doula students have been shocked at how it goes straight into the medical stuff, so its good to have training on normal birth and how birth can be.
    Kelly xx

Creator of BellyBelly.com.au, doula, writer and mother of three amazing children

BellyBelly Birth & Early Parenting Immersion - Join us in Melbourne on Saturday April 7th!
    Want To Be A Doula? Everything You Need To Know

Apparently in about 7 months I will be a qualified midwife - yikes!

Yes, I used my Doula experience as entry to Uni.

I applied the first time and didn't get in, but then after a year with Doula training and experience behind me I got in.

I would COMPLETELY recommend training as a Doula first, through any quality Doula program, because what you learn as a Doula is fundamental and you do not get it at uni. In my opinion all aspiring midwives SHOULD train as a Doula first.