Thread: How to start up a business

Default How to start up a business

Hi everyone,

I'm currently doing a course in massage therapy, and i'm looking to specalize in pregnancy massage...(along with general massage for women)

Anyway, i wanted to get started setting up the biz so that as soon as i'm qualified i'm ready to go.

I'm already registered as a sole trader for a previous job i had, so i have my own ABN

I've thought of a name that i want, and registered it tonight (somebody has something similar in a completely unrelated field, so i hope they let me have it).. I registered it as a trading name though.

What is the difference between registering it as a trading name or as a company?

If somebody sues me (i'm planning on taking out insurance once i become a member of Australian Massage Association), and i'm a sole trader, does that mean they could have access to my assets (my house etc)? If i register as a business does that mean they would sue the buisness and i as a person would be protected?

I wasn't registered for GST as a sole trader, but i'm assuming i might have to be for this one. How much do you need to make a year before you have to register?

I'm looking at registering my trading name as a domain name with a general website.. Any other ideas of what could be good to have to get this started (besides business cards)?

Is it worth paying an accountant or a business advisor to go through how to set up a company etc? Or can i found out the info myself?

It wont apply this tax year as i won't work before then, but is there anything i need to know when keeping records for tax to make tax time easier (haven't decided if i'll pay an accountant or not - i have bookkeeping experience)?\

Is there anything else i need to know???

Thanks in advance!

Hey Yael

All the best in starting up your business!

I started my private practice about 18 months ago...best thing I ever did!!!