thread: any social workers or similar out there?

BellyBelly Member

Dec 2005

any social workers or similar out there?

i have been thinking about doing some kind of human services thing. possibly social work. as far as i can see you need to do a degree for this? is there any kind of TAFE course that would see a job placement in this kind of area? also, if i were to bite the bullet and do a uni course what are the job prospects? is it hard field to get into, even with a qual? what are some positives and negatives of working in this area? thanks.

Oct 2007
    Middle Victoria

My Mum did welfare studies and then worked in the area. After a few years, she found that she needed the 'bit of paper' to move within her workplace and to work elsewhere and so returned to study and completed social work by distance education.

BellyBelly Member

Sep 2009
    Melbourne

Yep I'm a social worker. Depending on your previous educational experience, work and life experience there are a few options open to you. There is a welfare diploma as HotI mentioned. You do work placement with this. I'm not sure of the work prospects from this diploma but it might be a bit limiting, but then it depends really on what you want to do.