Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: May I ask without causing an uproar???

In Jewish law, saving a life is more important (hence overrides) almost every other law, all except for murder, idolatory, and adultery (i.e. you can't murder or idol worship to save your own life).

So yes, you don't have to fast, and you must stop, but for the major fast this generally needs to be under the guidance of a Rabbi and doctor. For the major fast, you generally (when not pregnant and bf, as i'm not an expert with the leniancies extend there) have to be a case of life and death not to fast (i.e. you can stop just because you have a headache)

Queenie wrote:
    are there any traditions you have or you hope to institute for your children?
    We will try to have all the Balinese Ceremonies for our kids, but Thankfully if they miss out on say the first 2 yrs worth, then when we are in Bali the next time we simply start from where we last left off & can do all the Ceremonies up until childs age at once...

Once all my babies are of about 13yrs (approx) we will all have our teeth filed which is a very important ceremony. As they file down the top row of teeth to all be very straight/flat as the pointy teeth are classed as our evil teeth, that allow us to feel jealousy, hatred & the evil things (something like that?) etc (this is a very old belief)..
    Basically as I am not balinese DH will teach the kids the beliefs, but whislt we are in OZ we celebre=ate all the things I grew up with... Christmas, Easter etc....

angelfish Guest

Easter eggs are because the rabbit and the egg were both traditional symbols of Eastre/Eostre, the goddess of Spring, dawn and fertility. The pagan festival was celebrated on or near the spring equinox (northern hemisphere).

Here's another bit of trivia...