Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Cleft Lip and/or Palette

Thank you Del. That makes me feel better actually!

How old was Alex when he had the op?

Our boy is so active and independent that we're quite worried about having him attached to drips and having his arms splinted (to stop him putting anything in his mouth). How did Alex go with that - if he had it done?

Hey Toni!!!

It is getting close now~Words of advice would be to just stay positive and strong!!!!! You know deep down Liam will pull throught this just fine! I know it's easy to say but seriously Taj pulled through like he had done this before,,,I was the one who had to pull my head in and focus! Although I have no experience in the Palate Op I know that we are both going through the same emotional experience!!! Adele's post will fill you in more on what you are wanting to know!

Suggestions: Definately easy button up suits and nothing that has to go over the head... Take your bottles with you and if you are expressing take your pump just incase they don't have the facilities! Take nappies just incase!! I know Liam is a cloth bottom boy like Taj but Sposies may be easier in this situation!!!
    A good book or trashie mag for you to read or think you are reading while he is in theatre....
    And just positive thoughts all round............................................. ..........................

What date is Liam's OP? I want to keep him in my thoughts!!
    XOXXOXOXOXO

I forgot to mention that Taj only had the splints on for 2 weeks as they stopped him from doing the most basic of activities...Once he was used to the nasal stents and dissolvable stitches he was fine! (He hasn't worn the splints for nearly 7 weeks post op)