Thread: Desperate for Advice

Eleshia_V Guest

Default Desperate for Advice

Hi Everyone,

I'm desperate for a solution for our 12mth old daughter's sleeping problem. She wakes at 1am and won't go back to bed until at least 4am. We've tried so many things to get her out of this habit, but to no avail. It's hard to know if she's in pain/discomfort, sometimes it sounds like it, and other times she is so desperately tired but can't seem to go to sleep. She screams like nothing else i've ever heard, she literally has the entire household awake, as well as the neighbours. We're all terribly sleep deprived and can't do this for too much longer. I've tried massage (i'm a qualified infant massage instructor, remedial massage therapist, nurse etc) and none of my skills have helped her to get through this part of the night. Sometimes during the day she just whinges constantly allllll day, nothing will stop her. I've taken her to the dr and had her ears checked etc, thinking perhaps she had an infection or something, but all clear. She often rubs at the back of her head, or smacks herself in the head, or holds her ears, which is why i thought ear infection/headache. She feeds well, is eating plenty of fresh food (fruit, veges, meat, chicken, yoghurt, vegemite sandwiches) and doesn't seem to have any problem with filling her nappy on a regular basis, so i've pretty much ruled out bowel issues. I'm just at a loss as to where to go or what to try. No one seems to have anything much to say except "put up with it, she'll grow out of it" etc...I challenge anyone to come and deal with this 24/7 week in week out for months and still say the same thing!!
    So please, if anyone has any suggestions i'd be happy to take on some new ideas.

Many thanks,

eleshia