Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please Help. Charlotte wont eat and is still loosing weight

Exclamation Please Help. Charlotte wont eat and is still loosing weight

Can anyone give me some advice on how to get some food into Charlotte. She still really wont eat, and is still loosing weight.
    She also has stated to bring up all of her morning milk, she has done this twice in the last 6 days.

Yesterday I made up the banana castard and she ate about 3 tspns yay, but today she wont touch it, she had about 1 ice cude of apples for breakfast.

We really can not afford for her not to eat, as I don't want her loosing anymore weight. She is still b/f and is having from about 5-8 feeds in 24 hours.

PLEASE HELP

Kelly, you poor love.

I am no expert, but at 8 months, I would not rely on solids to help her put on weight. Milk is where she will be geting her main calories from.

She sounds like she is still happy with the BF.......apart from bring it up some mornings? It might be that her digestion is just struggling to deal with teh introduction of solids?

How are you feeling?

Has Charlotte started doing anything new in the gross motor department? ie crawling? Is she expending a whole load more energy anywhere?

If it is any comfort, from looking at my blog from when Olivia was the same age, at 9 months Olivia started dropping weight again. (She also dropped weight at 7 months). Then by 10 months started gaining weight again.

(My MCHN had all sorts of theories about why this should happen, but my MIL (who is a clinical dietician, so I trust her opinion on such matters!) suggested that some babies are just small, and to IGNORE the scales and concentrate on the babies demeanor, their proportions, their skin, their fontanelles, and their poos........when I suggested this to my MCHN, she totally agreed, and that was when I finally relaxed about it and stopped going for fortnightly weighs for Olivia.