Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Swimming

katanya Guest

Our local pool has free lessons in school holidays(Laurie Lawrence Swim Centre) for 5 days in a row, I took Felix when he was 4 months excatly, and even though he loved the water, he took some in on the first day and then got really sick for the rest of the time. So we missed out!
    I took him again recently just for a dip and he just seeemed that bit more excited about the water IYKWIM, I think for Felix 6 months is better.

I am hopefully am going to get him into the free clinic this summer, and then start lessons in the new year

Jackie Guest

Thought this was due for revival, being an ex swimming teacher I have pretty strong views on water safety which of course means teaching kids to swim as early as possible, by either a proffesional or mum/dad. With so many back yard pools etc in Australia it is so important.
    So, who of you take your kiddies to swimming lessons or teach them yourselves?? How old were you when you learnt to swim or did you never get the opportunity to learn??
    I learned to swim when I was about 5, and taught all of my kids from about 3, should probably have started earlier, but them are the breaks..
    I taught for about 4 years, had a realised how much I enjoyed it I would have started teaching so much earlier. There aren't to many things better, than seeing a youngster who was terrified of water hopping in the pool and loving it so much that the parents have trouble getting the little tyke out again

Thanks Jackie on reviving this. I have started Matilda on swimming lessons at 7 months old, and she adores water. She loves playing and splashing & going under...she's not too mad keen on laying on her back, but she will get there!

Shayla will be starting swimming lessons in the next few weeks, once we work out which days are best for us. We will be using State Swim.