Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Poor Progress??

Default Poor Progress??

I just had a look at my discharge sheet from Zander's birth & it didn't say the usual "failure to progress" but it said "poor progress >3cm"

What does that mean exactly? I thought my progress was pretty good considering I got to 9cm....

tiggy Guest

Sarah,
    was it a long labour?
    When I was a student we were told that a woman should dilate 1cm an hour. Perhaps, they were infering that you didn't fit that 'text book' dilatation?
    When you are 3cm, you are considered in active labour, so I suppose they are insinuating that your progress was poor once you had established(?)

Maybe the time it took? I have the usualy "failure to progress" followed by transverse (which makes no sense at all) and the OB who saw me during this pregnancy was reading my chart and saying that I barely progressed at all... I was 6cm when I had the c/s (10 hours after 3cm) and apparently it was a very poor progression (in her words) but I didn't ask her to explain.

ETA snap Tiff...

Tiff I was at 1-2cm when I had a midwife appointment at 12pm Friday, 3cm at midnight, 6cm (I think) at about 1pm Saturday when I had ARM, synto drip & an epidural, then 9cm at 7pm Saturday night. From 7pm-1.30am Sunday there were no changes, I stayed at 9cm.

Does it make a difference to future labours?

tiggy Guest

Sarah,
    Was Zander posterior?

No, it doesn't say anything for your next labour at all. Each labour is different but the fact that you got to 9cm is great, at least you know your body can do what it is supposed to do. That's a fantastic start!

Was Zander in distress at all, why did they do the caesarean?

Yep he was posterior.