Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: refusing certain midwife during labour?

Default refusing certain midwife during labour?

Hiya,
    Just wondering how many midwives are usually on duty per shift? I'm asking because I know at least one midwife who was too anti my birth preferences (letting cord pulse etc. etc.) to be an encouragement at all when I go into labour....and I was wondering if you are allowed to politely ask for another one who is more suited to your preferences?
    I have written out my birth preferences and will obviously be showing them to the midwives when I arrive to birth bubs, so perhaps they go over it and send the most suitable one in?
    Anyone have any experiences in this area to share?

tiggy Guest

Hi,

Of course you have the right to ask for someone that you feel comfortable with!
    It's your birth.

I have never asked for someone different but when I was a student midwife, there was one midwife who nobody liked. One day, I was allocated her and she was really mean to the woman and her family, who were in birthing their forth baby. After a while, it was apparent that the midwife and the woman were not getting on and she asked for someone different. The midwife was upset that she had been asked to go (she was a senior core staff member in delivery suite) but it was just too bad, the woman (who was experienced and knew her stuff) was not going to put up with that kind of treatment at her birth! I was very happy to see her stand up for what she believed in!

I have done that already for similar reasons. I have asked that a midwife not be in the birthing suite and they have made a note of it on my file.

I will definitely be requesting not to have a certain midwife if she is on duty while I am in labour. For all i know she may not even work there anymore anyway LOL, as she was my midwife 2.5yrs ago with Lach's birth

Love

Groovy. That's good to know
    Thanks ladies!