Thread: Breastfeeding to formula feeding help

Default Breastfeeding to formula feeding help

Hey All!!

I've been BFing DD for 5 months now and I said quietly at the beginning that I will be BFing DD until she reaches 5 or 6 months.

Back when DD was over 3 months old I tried her on a bottle of formula and she drank it with no worries. Since that happened I thought GREAT dont need to worry too much about storing too much milk for my wedding BUT I was wrong!! I tried DD on formula again about 2 weeks before the wedding and she refused to take it, so after that I was best friends with my pump again, making sure I had plenty of milk freezed...

I dont want to entirely get DD on to formula but sometimes it would be good if she took formula. I am doing a scuba diving course in January, it goes over 2 weekends from 8.30am - 5pm, so this is one time where I really would love to have her on formula! I am expressing milk at the moment for these weekends..

So I'll cut to the chase - LOL! How can I introduce a bottle of formula to DD without her screaming the house down?? I have tried two different formulas - S26 and Heinz. She liked the S26 the first time but not the second time...

TIA!!

Nan is suposed to be the closest to breast milk may be try that one.

can you mix EBM and formula then slowly reduce the EMB and increase the formula taht way she'll get used to the taste

Thanks Rach! Do you know if you can get sample packets of Nan?

AJP - how much EBM and formula would you do if you were mixing it?

sorry veronica i wouldnt have a clue!! sophies never had formula, im sure someone will come on and recommend an amount!!